Driemond is a village and district in the city of Amsterdam Zuidoost ( North Holland province). The district is the oldest residential district in Amsterdam with around 1500 inhabitants ( as of early 2013).
The name has its origin Driemond of three small rivers that come to the village together: Gein, and Smal Weesp Gaasp. Officially, the name Driemond was introduced in 1961, was previously called the district Geinbrug. Driemond lies in the west of Weesp, in the southeast of the municipality of Amsterdam and is bordered to the east by the Amsterdam - Rhine Canal (Amsterdam- Rhine canal ).
The village has a rich history. Until 31 July 1966, the former hamlet Geinbrug belonged to the municipality Weesperkarspel with the associated Weespertrekvaart. Weespertrekvaart was created in 1639, with different existing waterways ( Dutch: Vaarweg or Waterway ) was used. The navigable channels were determined for barges ( trekschuiten ).
The community Weesperkarspel included North and East Duivendrecht, Geinbrug (or Driemond ) and Bijlmermeer. 1811 Weesperkarspel to the town of Weesp. On 1 August 1966, the area of Weesperkarspel was distributed to the municipalities of Amsterdam `s Graveland, Hilversum, Naarden and Weesp. A change came in 1987, Weesperkarspel was assigned to the city of Amsterdam Zuid -Oost.
Driemond has two primary schools and two allotments: Linnaeus and Frankendaal. In the village there is a windmill that Gaaspermolen. (Also: Gemeenschapsmolen called ) from 1707 are also two historical monument ( Rijksmonument ) standing monuments. A farm ( boerderij ) and a building, 1754. Since 1977, takes place every year the event Geinloop. A performance run ( prestatieloop ) where everyone can participate.