Isenfluh was a separate municipality until 1973 and is today a district of Lauterbrunnen in the district of Interlaken in the canton of Bern in Switzerland. The small village is situated above the road from Wilderswil to Lauterbrunnen
1319 Isenfluh was first mentioned in writing as Ysenfluo. It is believed that it was a Celtic settlement and the hamlet Sulwald was first settled. In Isenfluh the first time, the influx of Lötschentaler 1401 demonstrated. The dialect differs substantially from that of the other Taldörfer. The Interlaken monastery had this little place since the 14th century. From 1528 it was 270 years long managed by the bailiwick of Interlaken.
It was not until 1905, a simple walk to Lauterbrunnen was built. Before there was only one compound according Gündlischwand. 1962/63, the solid, paved carriage road was built. 1965 but were already on the first problem. First cracks in the hillside made time and again smaller repairs. In July 1987, a landslide destroyed this important compound and the village was isolated. Thanks to a hastily built Notseilbahn the village could be reached again. In 1992 the village was re-connected to the road network. Thanks to a unique, 1,200 meters long, 360 degree curved tunnels can safely reach the village back to the car.
Since 1975 a cable car in operation, connecting Isenfluh with the hamlet Sulwald.
Isenfluh suffered from 1880 under a strong emigration. Preferred areas were Canada and the Caucasus.
Isenfluh is the starting point for walks and sled runs. The Lobhornhütte of the Swiss Alpine Club SAC can be reached from Isenfluh in a few hours.
With a small cable car takes you to the hamlet Sulwald at 1520 m. Sulwald is inhabited all year round.