Jerxheim is a municipality in the district of Helmstedt in Lower Saxony.
- 2.1 Postal History
- 3.1 municipal
- 3.2 Mayor
- 3.3 Coat of Arms
- 4.1 Music
- 4.2 Literature
- 4.3 Sport
- 4.4 Regular events
- 5.1 traffic
- 5.2 Public bodies
Jerxheim is located south of the Elm Lappwald and north of Huy. The town lies on the Great Rift and at the foot of the highly visible Heese mountain ( 200 meters above sea level. ). The municipality is a member municipality and administrative headquarters of the velvet municipality Heeseberg.
Geologically, the area is characterized by the lower red sandstone and is called " oolite zone ". In Heeseberg area already existed in prehistoric and early historic times agricultural crops, as there exist good arable soils, as loess and black earth. The fossil algal mats on Heeseberg was included in the list of 77 excellent national geotopes 2006.
Located in the southeast of the district of Helmstedt Heeseberg to the northwestern foothills of the Central German dry area. A unique flora and fauna with heat-loving, drought little sensitive plants and animal species can be found here. Large parts of the mountain are Heese nature reserve.
The quarters are:
- Jerxheim -site
- Jerxheim Station
- Jerxheim settlement on Heeseberg
In 1195 the village was first mentioned. In 1313 was documented in a castle " Gerksem " mentioned in the mortgage held by the Knights of Alves lives. In 1846 Jerxheim had 974 inhabitants and already had a railway station.
A small post office, a so-called post- expedition was to Jerxheim since 1843 for the development of the postal system in Jerxheim see: . Mail route Brunswick- Magdeburg - Helmstedt.
The municipal council of Jerxheim consists of 11 council women and councilors.
- SPD four seats
- BLJ (civic list Jerxheim ) seven seats
The honorary mayor Wolfgang Sander ( BLJ ) was elected on 10 September 2008.
Coat of arms
The coat of arms was approved on 25 February 1956 the President Brunswick administration.
Jerxheim was since ancient seat of Brunswick Office and therefore results in the upper half of his shield split one of the two golden Duke of Brunswick coat of arms lion. The blue scissors in the lower panel is from the coat of arms of the lords of Jerxheim that to 1428 played a role here by 1200. The lower half of the shield also reiterates with the colors blue and yellow again the long association of the community to the land of Braunschweig.
The City Council adopted the coat of arms on 3 June 1955. Coat of arms was designed by Wilhelm heraldist war.
Culture and sights
The Heeseberg with a mountain restaurant is surrounded by villages, which are dominated by agriculture and large Thuringian courtyards. The name of the velvet municipality is due to the survey. On Heeseberg tower there in nature and landscape protection area a geological nature adventure trail to the open air and experience the museum Ostfalen ( FEMO ), from which opens up a remarkable panorama. There is a clear view of the Harz mountains and the Brocken massif of the resin. In the north of Elm can be seen.
In the past leading Great Rift is a flat, glacial meltwater channel which is suitable for cycling.
Jerxheim has since 1852, the " glee club Liedertafel Jerxheim " eV with Mixed Chorus, Women's Choir and Men's Choir. Every year the choir is a choir concert. The Advent concert on 2nd Advent in the Protestant church is embedded in the Christmas market held annually.