The Natural History Museum in Leipzig is an urban regional museum with geological, botanical, zoological and archaeological collections. Famous are taken over by the University of Leipzig dermoplastics. The permanent exhibition presents 800 m² mainly regional exhibits. In addition, special exhibitions are held regularly. Every year counted 30,000 visitors to the museum.
The city of Leipzig has a permanent exhibition closed in November 2011 due to inadequate fire protection, so that currently only the special exhibition area on the ground floor is accessible. The first and second floor is on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays again open to visitors on weekdays, this area is only open for groups. In the upper part, however, is considered a personal limit of 30 people.
The Natural History Museum Leipzig was founded on March 3, 1906 by members of the " Natural Science Association of the Leipzig teacher association" and moved on June 5, 1912 as " Natural History Museum of Local History " previously the " enduring and Crafts Exhibition " serving buildings on Tröndlinring. 1923, the collection was moved to the building erected in 1838 of the Second Higher public school on Goerdelerring. Since 1930, it is supported by the city of Leipzig, the present name has been kept since 1987.