The Frederiksberg Palace (Danish Frederiksberg Slot) in the municipality of Frederiksberg in Copenhagen was originally built as a summer residence for King Frederick IV. The building now houses a military academy. The former Castle Park forms an important green area of Greater Copenhagen.
History of the castle
There was originally the pleasure garden surrounded by a royal manor Sjolberg At the site of the present castle. The castle was given as a small summer palace of King Frederick IV in 1699, the year of his government commencement in order and named after himself. Frederik is the Danish spelling of his name.
First, the castle consisted of a small Ernst Brandenburger built building in the Italian palazzo style. The middle wing was completed in 1703 and still forms the core of the system. From 1708 to 1709 the castle was increased by Johan Conrad Ernst and installed the chapel among others. The outer ends of the building have been enlarged to two side wings that gave the castle to the ground plan of a broad H.
Christian VI. Laurids de Thurah had by 1733-1738 two connecting buildings to build portal building, creating a large, gated community with an arcaded courtyard was born. The former summer palace had grown to a great baroque residence and was used by members of the royal family's summer residence. The castle was equipped with a splendid equipment, the stucco decorations were executed by Italian masters and the rooms were decorated with a significant number tapestries and paintings. 1770 some interiors were redecorated in the style of classicism, it was among other things the knights' hall its present shape.
In the 19th century the royal family used the palace rare. 1852 Queen Marie died here. As part of the German -Danish War, it was used as a hospital in 1864 and 1869 passed, which was founded in 1713 military academy.
The castle today
The plant is still one of the Danish armed forces and is still used by the military academy. Visitors can explore the interiors therefore entered only in the context of rare guides or by appointment in groups. The chapel, however, is open regularly. The castle is the center of the aligned to the investment Parks Frederiksberg Have, therefore, the castle grounds from the outside at all times.
The castle park - Frederiksberg Have
The castle stands on the named after a former village Valby Hill, from where offers a view up to Copenhagen.
The gardens Frederiksberg Have (Frederiksberg Garden ) was created as a Baroque Park by Hans Henrik Bruhn to 1711 and belonged once to the main French gardens in Denmark. Even today, the former avenues of the main routes and parts of the once extensive water features are preserved. 1776, the road was passed to Roskilde at the castle, separating the southern part of the park, called Søndermarken, from the northern area from.
From 1789 to 1800, the park was redesigned by Peter Petersen in a landscaped garden to the English model and provided with streams, copses and winding paths. 1859 Princess Wilhelmine- garden was provided to the newly established Copenhagen Zoo available named range, which is still located in the immediate vicinity of the castle.
The gardens have been changed significantly since the 19th century. Various follies such as a Chinese temple and the Swiss House so-called have survived. The park is one of the largest green areas in the Copenhagen metropolitan area and is considered one of the most popular recreation areas in the capital region.