Stavelot ( German: Stablo ) is a city in the east of Belgium, in the province of Liège, ( January 1, 2012 level ) with 6895 inhabitants.
Stavelot is one of the oldest towns in Belgium. The foundation of the monastery of Stavelot by the Holy Remaclus on behalf of the mayor of the palace Grimoald goes back to the year 648; the monastery was the Merovingian Frankish king Sigebert III. equipped with land and belonged to the diocese of Liege. Together with the monastery founded in 650 Malmedy ( diocese of Cologne) Stablo formed in the late Middle Ages a rich immediate territory ( Imperial Abbey of Stavelot - Malmedy) with seat and vote in the Imperial Council of the Holy Roman Empire; the abbots bore the title of prince-abbot. The autonomy of the principality ended during the French Revolution in 1794. The Congress of Vienna finally separated from the sister city of Stavelot and Malmedy Abbey, the Prussians were annexed. Stavelot was added to the United Kingdom of the Netherlands and came in 1830 to the newly founded Belgium. The city is mainly known for the unique Mosan metal and goldsmithing.
In the spring and summer of 1948, a lawsuit against German soldiers took place in Liege, one week before the start of the Battle of the Bulge on December 9, 1944 as members of the 1st SS Panzer Division " Leibstandarte Adolf Hitler" under the leadership of Joachim Peiper, who a few days later was also responsible for the massacre at Malmedy, had committed war crimes against Belgian civilians. The process was based on a documentation of the Ministry of Justice in Brussels in May 1945. Basically it was a matter that Stavelot was hard fought, as there was an important link here. The crime is due to the investigation from 1945 well documented.
- The old abbey ( Ancienne Abbaye ) was renovated in 2002 and houses three museums: A museum depicts the history of the Imperial Prince Abbey, with a detailed presentation of the major Wibald Abbot of Stavelot
- A museum dedicated to the French poet Guillaume Apollinaire, who spent three months significant for his work in Stavelot in the summer of 1899.
- Furthermore, a museum of the circuit of Spa -Francorchamps is dedicated to the exhibition of numerous racing cars and motorcycles, as well as documents and photos to develop the track and the racing highlights.
Periodically, special exhibitions. The foundation walls of the abbey date from the 11th century. The individual buildings of the monastery are connected by glass corridors. The Abbey is on the list of 159 objects of cultural heritage of Wallonia.
- Ruins of the Abbey Church of Saint - Remacle: The ruins of the abbey church of St. Remacle in advance of the abbey. The church was demolished by two citizens of Stavelot 1795 after they repealed the church had purchased from the Revolutionary government.
- Church of Saint Sébastien: by Remacle shrine, which is a testament to the unique Meuse goldsmith's art. In the church are the remains of St. since 1268.
- Spa- Francorchamps: the Grand Prix of Belgium
- High Fens nature reserve:
- At Place Saint- Remacle is the so-called "rest" of Stavelot. Here are unique half-timbered houses in narrow streets and a platform from 1769.
- Carnival to Laetare: The Carnival to Laetare with the Blancs - Moussis. 1449 gets a new Abbot of Stavelot, this prohibited the monks the Mitfastentreiben. As a sign of protest, the citizens prefer white hooded garments, hide their faces behind masks with long red noses and pull with pigs' bladders wagging through the streets. Originally, the festival took place at mid-Lent instead of during the week before Laetare, but was then laid in the 20th century to the days of Friday to Monday at Laetare.
- Theatre and Music Festival: held annually in May and July
- Waterfalls of Coo:
The " Blancs - Moussis " in the carnival
Carnival 2004 in Stavelot
Sons and daughters of the town
- Prume François (1816-1849), violinist and composer
- Albert Counson (1880-1933), Romance
- Raymond Micha (1910-2006), musician and composer ( honorary citizen )
- Lionel Syne ( b. 1976 ), cyclist
The winery Staffelter court in Kröv was for centuries owned by the Imperial Abbey of Stavelot and derives its name from.