Obersteinebach is a municipality in the district of Old Churches ( Westerwald) in the north of Rhineland- Palatinate. It belongs to the municipality Flammersfeld. Obersteinebach is a nationally recognized tourist.
Obersteinebach is at about 300 m altitude in the valley of Lahr brook with its reservoir in the middle of the Rhine-Westerwald Nature Park.
The place was in the northeast area of the former Engersgaues. He was " soon in 1250 " was first documented in or towards the end of the 13th century in the lifting rollers of Herford Marienstifts. The village or " the Huben top and Niedersteinebach " belonged to the territory of the Electorate of Trier. Lord were the Counts of Isenburg here.
1803 Obersteinebach the Principality of Nassau- Weilburg, Duchy of Nassau 1806 and 1815 to Prussia. Under the Prussian administration Obersteinebach was assigned to the newly built district of Old churches of the mayoralty Flammersfeld that belonged from 1822 to the Rhine province.
Above the village, which consists of the " About Village, Upper Village and the Balkans ", was about 1828 an oratory, which belonged to the already mentioned 1550 branch Obersteinebach. It was in 1926/27 and rebuilt on October 14, 1928 to St.. Josef dedicated to the patron saint. In the following years, it was renovated several times.
For the inhabitants of the iron ore mining was in former times, in addition to the usual agriculture, a source of income. Old " Pingenzüge " and the old " tunnel behind the Heiderhof " bear witness to the 400-500 year old mining.
Since the early 1990s, the City develops more and more into a rural residential community.
The development of the population of Obersteinebach, the values from 1871 to 1987 based on population censuses:
The local council in Obersteinebach consists of six council members, who were elected at the municipal election held on 7 June 2009 by majority vote, and the honorary mayor as chairman.
Coat of arms
In the former country or feudal lord remember the coat of arms of Obersteinebach behind the " Trier Cross " and the colors red and silver which are the colors of the coat of arms of the Archdiocese and the Count Isenburg simultaneously. The golden heraldic lily stands as a symbol for Mary for the first documentary mention of the Herford Marienstift. The creek, and thus also the place name are forward documented by a silver wave beams in the arms. The St. Joseph's Chapel is shown in the coat of arms as silver chapel front in red. For now dormant iron ore mining are the coat of arms, overthrown and crossed, black hammer and mallet. The Silver Oak branch with golden acorn symbolizes the forest and the district. In the municipal coat of arms is the front blue field indicates the Stauweiher.
The " Oak " stands as a natural monument in the forest between Obersteinebach and Peterslahr. A special feature of the Colonel A Bacher district is located at the northern end of the village " Lahrbach Reservoir ".
See also: List of cultural monuments in Obersteinebach
- Obersteinebach is about two kilometers north of the Federal Highway 3 and the new ICE line has been running bundled in this section.
- The nearest motorway junction is Neuwied, about six miles away. The nearest railway stations are Old Churches ( Westerwald) at the top Westerwaldbahn, Au (Sieg), the ICE stations Montabaur and Limburg Süd and Linz (Rhein) and Bad Hönningen on the right Rhine between Cologne and Koblenz.